Archive. This is an archive of the Apple Support Community. Discussions are being restored and soon you will be able to read and post here again.

Suspicious password reset message on iPhone

if you get a message on your iphone to reset your password with the buttons don’t allow and allow. How do you have to act? Maybe it is phishing.

7 replies

This looks like a password reset notification allowing you to approve, or block, a password reset attempt.


If you were not trying to reset your Apple Account password, tap on Don't Allow. You might then want to change your Apple Account password yourself, to a new, strong password that bears no resemblance to the old one – one that whoever might be trying to break into your account would not know, and could not easily guess.


If you think your Apple Account has been compromised – Apple Support

  1. Is this your corporate/organisation/enterprise/School Management iPhone? Then please contact the system administrator of your corporate//organisation/enterprise/School Management
  2. If it is your device, in that case, do you have any profile installed by your corporate/organisation/enterprise/School Management?
    1. Erase the profile added by you If you have installed a profile on your own --> Install or remove configuration profiles on iPhone - Apple ...
    2. Or please contact the system administrator of the organisation who provided the profile to you



A corporate profile installed on your iPhone could potentially be contributing to the inaccessibility of certain features. 

Here's why:

  • Restrictions: Corporate profiles can have restrictions placed on apps and functionalities. These restrictions might be limiting some activity, causing it to be unresponsive or quit.
  • Managed Apps: IT departments might deploy specific navigation apps through the profile, potentially blocking certain functions or features.
  • Security Settings: Corporate profiles often have stricter security settings that could affect app or function behavior. This might be causing unexpected behavior of an App or functions.


Here's what you can do:

  • Check with IT: The best course of action is to contact your IT department. They can explain the restrictions set by the corporate profile and see what is affected. They might be able to adjust settings or suggest alternative apps or features approved for corporate use.
  • Look for App Conflicts: See if your IT department uses a different app through the corporate profile. Conflicting apps might cause crashes.


Additional points to consider:

  • Even if the profile isn't directly affecting the function, it's still a good idea to check with IT. They might be aware of similar issues and have workarounds.
  • While troubleshooting, make sure you prioritize safety. Don't fiddle with your phone. 


By working with IT and considering these possibilities, you can hopefully identify if the corporate profile is the culprit and find a solution that allows you to use the iPhone to your liking.


If it is your device, in that case, do you have any profile installed by your corporate/organisation/enterprise/School Management?

  1. Erase the profile added by you If you have installed a profile on your own --> Install or remove configuration profiles on iPhone - Apple ...


Would it be a good advise to reboot the iPhone? Not to use one of the buttons because you don’t know what’s behind?

I don’t know what’s behind the buttons. Behind the don’t allow button there could be also malware or phishing software. I will gave him the advice to reboot the iPhone to see what happens. But I wait some-time to see if other solutions will come up.

It’s a private, stand-alone, iPhone from a friend.

LouisLafleur wrote:
Would it be a good advise to reboot the iPhone?

Yes. I would.