Archive. This is an archive of the Apple Support Community. Discussions are being restored and soon you will be able to read and post here again.

Apple Account password rejected after iOS update with unfamiliar email

Here’s the situation: after an iOS update, a "Password for Apple Account" pop-up notification appeared. The email address shown isn't mine—or perhaps it’s obscured/encrypted; I’m not sure. In any case, when I enter my password, it’s rejected. Even after I change my password and try the new one, it still doesn't work. Could you please advise on what I should do?

7 replies

The situation you describe often happens if there are apps (or media purchases) on the device that were installed (or downloaded) under a different Apple ID/account, and they need updating or redownloading. This can sometimes happen if a device was not properly reset by a previous owner, or if you incorrectly "change" your ID by creating a brand new Apple account instead of as in: https://support.apple.com/109353


Purchases can now be migrated from one account to another but that requires certain conditions be met. See https://support.apple.com/117294 and https://support.apple.com/117267


Hi there


Please try this


  1. Do Not Enter Your Current Password
    • If an unfamiliar Apple Account email is displayed and your password is rejected, stopping prevents accidentally entering credentials into a rogue prompt or an unverified service link. 
  1. Check Where Different Apple Accounts Might Be Signed In
  • iOS can use separate Apple Accounts for different features on the same device. Check if the unfamiliar email is attached to specific sub-services:
      • Media & Purchases: Go to Settings > [Your Name] > Media & Purchases > View Account (or sign out and see which ID pops up).
      • Messages & FaceTime: Go to Settings > Messages > Send & Receive and Settings > FaceTime.
      • Internet Accounts / Mail: Go to Settings > Mail > Accounts to see if an old or external mail account is tied to a secondary login.
  • Family Sharing: Check if you previously shared purchases or apps with someone else's Apple ID. 


MaximA7 wrote:
Idk, I bought this iPhone from another owner, in pretty good condition. But now, instead of my mail, it gives me the mail of the previous owner. And I wrote to it, but I can't be sure until the end that this mail is correct and definitely not encrypted, as Apple does... Maybe there is a way to get to Apple support so that they untie this mail..?

Did you or the owner reset the iPhone before you starting to use it?


If not, you’ll need the owner to release the Activation Lock and commence the ownership transfer.


Once ownership is transferred, the next step is a reset.


You'll then have ownership of iOS and all apps, as well as ownership of the iPhone itself.

I’d wonder if you have an app or other content associated with a different Apple Account.


This happens when somebody else logs into the app store to download an app using their Apple Account, or when

an iPhone is “taken over” without being erased, among other paths into the bog.


What is the history of this iPhone? Bought new directly from Apple? Purchased used from elsewhere? Was it reset before your first use?

Idk, I bought this iPhone from another owner, in pretty good condition. But now, instead of my mail, it gives me the mail of the previous owner. And I wrote to it, but I can't be sure until the end that this mail is correct and definitely not encrypted, as Apple does... Maybe there is a way to get to Apple support so that they untie this mail..?

MaximA7 wrote:
Just as I started using it, no. I climbed into the settings, created an Apple account, etc. and everything was okay. But as soon as I switched to iOS 27, this new pop-up window appeared🥲

That gets you where you are, with everything still tied to the owner’s Apple Account.


Not to whatever Apple Account was added.


And this behavior is not new.


Here is what needs to be done to transfer ownership: https://support.apple.com/en-us/109511


The owner can relinquish and transfer remotely.

Just as I started using it, no. I climbed into the settings, created an Apple account, etc. and everything was okay. But as soon as I switched to iOS 27, this new pop-up window appeared🥲