Archive. This is an archive of the Apple Support Community. Discussions are being restored and soon you will be able to read and post here again.

Cannot cancel subscription not appearing in iPhone settings

Hello everyone,

I am facing an issue with a subscription that I cannot seem to cancel.

A few days ago, an app attempted to charge my card for a subscription renewal. I originally signed up for a free trial to check out the features, but I forgot to cancel it in time. Now, the system keeps trying to deduct the money, but I do not want to continue using this app.

The main problem is that when I go to my iPhone Settings -> Apple ID -> Subscriptions, this subscription does not appear anywhere. I cannot find the specific account linked to this app, so I am unable to turn it off manually.

Since the automated cancellation button isn’t available to me, how can I stop these constant charge attempts and force-cancel this pending invoice? Any advice would be highly appreciated.

Thank you!

3 replies

Click on this link to review the information in the support article about canceling subscriptions ➔ https://support.apple.com/118428

You can view your subscriptions here —> https://apps.apple.com/account/subscriptions (requires sign-in)

If you can’t find the subscription that you want to cancel, click here —> https://support.apple.com/118428?device-type=mac#:~:text=canceled%2E-,If%20you%20can%27t%20findnd and review the possibilities


Notes:

• Subscriptions may have to be canceled at least 24 hours in advance of renewal or a trial ending, or you may be charged. (Above link and Section I of https://www.apple.com/legal/internet-services/itunes/us/terms.html#:~:text=twenty%2Dfour%20%2824%29%20hours ) By using an app like this you are automatically agreeing (always read the fine print) to this happening, are responsible for reading if this will happen, and canceling the subscription before the trial ends. E.g., https://discussions.apple.com/thread/256230049?answerId=261793271022 Exceptions apply in some countries ➔ https://support.apple.com/108098

• Deleting an app does not cancel a subscription.

• Canceling a subscription does not automatically start a refund.

• This thread (particularly posts by Mac Jim ID) outlines complex scenarios regarding subscriptions and trials. ➔ https://discussions.apple.com/thread/256149847


You cannot stop a pending charge. You have to pay and then optionally ask for a refund.


If you wish to pursue a refund, follow the directions in this support article about how to request a refund for apps or content that you bought from Apple ➔ https://support.apple.com/118223 The likelihood of you getting a refund may vary greatly from region to region as provided in section B of Legal - Apple Media Services - Apple . Typically refunds are entirely discretionary and not guaranteed. Special terms may apply for some countries: https://support.apple.com/108098


Read this support article for information about how long it takes to receive a refund (if one is granted), and how to check the status of a refund for apps or content that you bought from Apple --> https://support.apple.com/118224

● Store credit—It might take up to 48 hours to see the refund in your Apple Account balance.

● Mobile phone billing—It might take up to 60 days for the statement to show the refund. Processing time might be affected by your carrier. You can contact your carrier for an update.

● Credit and debit cards, Apple Pay, Apple Cash, and all other payment methods—It might take up to 30 days for the statement to show the refund. If you don't see the refund after 30 days, contact your financial institution."


Did you scroll all the way down to look for the subscription?

Do you have an receipt for the item and can click on it?



You have to pay for the amount that you previously agreed to pay. After that you will see the subscription to cancel the future renewal. It will not cancel the current one that you are now being charged.


There is no such thing as cancelling a Pending charge.

Mac Jim ID is absolutely correct. You didn't cancel the subscription in the defined timeframe, so you are obligated to pay, whether you used it or not. That's how contracts work. Once you pay, you'll then be able to delete the subscription.