Archive. This is an archive of the Apple Support Community. Discussions are being restored and soon you will be able to read and post here again.

Hello, Apple? Could you help please?

Hello.

iphone 13 pro max ios 26.6.1


Every time I open my Reminders, it asks me for precise location.


Every single time. No matter how or where I adjust settings to make it stop, the app still asks, every single time. Nothing through Apple helps with the situation. This is a bigger issue than setting preferences.


I have looked at other questions about this, and nobody from Apple ever responds to Help. All responses from helpful people are all the things that don’t work and seems like they don’t work for a lot of people.


I utilize Reminders all the time, but I’m getting worn down and am getting ready to dump this app.


Hope somebody from Apple can help with this issue and make it a non-issue once and for all.


Thanks so much!

8 replies

That sounds frustrating, especially when you use Reminders throughout the day. Since you’ve already tried changing the location settings, I wouldn’t assume that repeating those steps will resolve it.


Could you post a screenshot of the actual alert, with any personal information hidden? The exact wording and buttons will help distinguish a request for location permission from a warning that location based reminders need Precise Location.


Please also confirm what Reminders currently shows at this path,


iPhone > Settings > Privacy & Security > Location Services > the selected access option and whether Precise Location is on.


Apple documents that location based reminders need “While Using the App” and Precise Location. If those are already selected and the alert still appears every time, that’s important information to diagnose the issue.


AI used for grammar and spelling.

Apple is not here. You have posted to a user-to-user site. We are all users here.....just like you.


Apple will not see your post or reply.


However, if you are interested, you can provide Feedback directly to Apple by using this link:


https://www.apple.com/feedback/iphone/




gialuna wrote:
Hello.
iphone 13 pro max ios 26.6.1
I have looked at other questions about this, and nobody from Apple ever responds to Help. s app.

That's because Apple Support isn’t here and neither participates in nor monitors these user-to-suer forums. We here are all just fellow users like yourself trying to help one another as best we can. No one here is an Apple employee or contractor.


Have you looked at this setting...


Settings>Privacy & Security->Location Services->scroll down and select the Reminders app->make sure "While Using the App” and “Precise Location” are both selected and turned on.


If they are then try a forced restart of your iPhone.


https://support.apple.com/en-us/118259


Also remember that your iPhone gets its location from the GPS satellite system. If you are in an area that interferes with that GPS signal your iPhone has no other way to know here it is.




Small Hammer: force-restart. Hold the last press until the Apple logo, holding past any sliders or such.


Big Hammer: back up, factory reset, restore, and see if things work better.

As you now know, Apple does not provide support here on this Community site of other Apple users, so waiting for them to respond is not going to happen.


What we don't know is what you have tried and what has not worked for you. Not sure what you mean by being bigger than a Settings issue as that is the first place to look and you can even provide a screenshot of your Settings there that would help.


The Force Restart is also a great tool to use for clearing a bunch of caches that can resolve many problems, but we also don't know if you tried that either. When you do that you have to make sure in the last step that you are holding the Side Button until the Apple logo appears. This may take up to 15 seconds while holding the side button and you have to ignore anything else on the screen during that time, even the prompt to Slide to Power Off. Many people see that and power off their device, and that has not performed the Force Restart at all.

Ayjoke718 wrote:
Activation lock to owner

That is unrelated to the subject of this thread. Please click Ask the Community at the top of this page and create a new post.

Settings, privacy & security, location services, Reminders

Your settings should look like this


Activation lock to owner