Archive. This is an archive of the Apple Support Community. Discussions are being restored and soon you will be able to read and post here again.

Can’t remove trusted device from web or phone’s settings.

i can’t log out of a trusted device that i do not have access to any longer on web, and neither can i remove it from settings cos its not even bringing up any trusted device from the phone’s settings.

everything is greyed out on the phone’s apple account in settings.

sign out is greyed out

personal information

payment and shipping


they’re all greyed out.


i really need help with this.

7 replies

Oyinabibu wrote:
Yes, it says I can’t remove trusted account from web…

Sounds like you have Stolen Device Protection turned on then that will prevent removing the Trusted Account on the web.


The bigger issue here is that you cannot make any account changes and that is the reason you cannot sign out of a Trusted Device. Give these a try:

  • Stolen Device Protection can also prevent account changes when not in a familiar location determined by the OS. Try turning it off here: About Stolen Device Protection
  • Instead of just turning off Content & Privacy Restrictions, try turning off Screen Time completely at Setting > Screen Time, and scroll to the bottom to Turn Off Screen Time. If you have a Screen Time Passcode set, you will need to remove that first.
  • If you are a member of a Family Sharing group, the Organizer will have to remove the restriction from their device. Nothing you do on your device will allow access when in a Family Sharing group managed by the Organizer.
  • If you have MDM software installed, you may be prevented from Account changes. Check if you have anything showing at Settings > General > VPN & Device Management.

Settings, Screen Time, Content & Privacy Restrictions, Turn off the main Switch

Did you go to account.apple.com?

I’ve done this, still nothing..

Yes, it says I can’t remove trusted account from web…

Oyinabibu wrote:
Yes, it says I can’t remove trusted account from web…

Trusted Device, surely?

I turned this off now, after waiting about 5 minutes or so for the delay thingy.

I am still restricted 🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️🤦🏼‍♀️

this is so frustrating.