Archive. This is an archive of the Apple Support Community. Discussions are being restored and soon you will be able to read and post here again.

2 Apple Accounts in the same place

I have 2 Apple accounts, 2 separate email addresses, when I log into either of them they take me to the same place in iCloud.


Would I be able to delete one without losing everything else connected to the other?


Don't want to try it in case I delete everything.


TIA

Kenny


5 replies

What do you mean by the same place? Generally Apple has completely separate iCloud areas for different accounts. It is possible to share some items such as photo albums --> https://support.apple.com/HT202786


It is also possible to share storage but you are not going to share the same content. It's more like one person buying a house but then letting others have their own rooms in the house. Each user's space is completely isolated from others in the Family Sharing group.


Given how Apple has things set up, you should be able to delete one account and the other remains unaffected, but it would be good to know what you are seeing that makes you think there is shared content. An alternative to deleting an account would be to deactivate one of them and then see if it affects the other. If it does not then you could later delete it. If it does affect the other, reactivation is easier than trying to undo deletion which is impossible after a time.

When I log in to iCloud using one address I see my mail, Callander, photos, etc., then log out.


I can then log in with the other email address and see exactly the same things.


they are linked in some way.

I can sign into one on my iPhone and the other on my Mac and see the same. I can take pictures on my phone and they appear on my Mac. Same account 2 email addresses to access it.


Ah, not two accounts. See:


https://support.apple.com/102529#alt

Additional email addresses

“These email addresses can also be used to sign in to your Apple Account.”


How and on what device are you signing into iCloud? If you are using a mobile device to do this then realize that mobile devices are not intended to be used with multiple accounts. When you sign out of one account and tell it not to erase content then that content is retained when you are signed into the other account. It then syncs to the second account's iCloud and the content becomes essentially identical. What you are supposed to do with a mobile device is when you change accounts you erase the device and let it repopulate with the other account's iCloud content from iCloud itself.