Archive. This is an archive of the Apple Support Community. Discussions are being restored and soon you will be able to read and post here again.

How does iCloud Photos syncing work with deleted photos and free storage?

Hello.

I am in a dilemma. Hopefully this isn’t just anxiety. Back in January of 2026 someone took a video of me that I wanted gone. So I was able to delete it from his phone in may 2026. i know it’s deleted from his physical phone (camera roll) but now I am worried that it is in his iCloud. He never payed for iCloud, so that means he only had the free 5gb of iCloud storage. But what if the video already got to the iCloud website, and then he turned iCloud syncing off after it got to the website? That means if I deleted the photo in may, and the picture already made it to iCloud website , but iCloud Photos/syncing was off, that means it’ll stay there forever. Can someone help me figure this out? Is it likely he turned off iCloud Photos or syncing on his iPhone 17 pro max? Does the iPhone 17 pro max come with iCloud Photos and syncing already on? Please any comments is helpful. Also, what if the video had already uploaded to iCloud website and he turned off the syncing before I was able to delete the video from his physical camera roll?


[Re-Titled by Moderator]

Original Title: iCloud syncing



5 replies

It all depends on the exact sequence of events.


If he had it on his iPhone and iCloud syncing of photos was active while it was there, it was transferred to his iCloud storage.


If he then turned off photo syncing and then you deleted the photo from his iPhone, the photo is still in his iCloud storage unless he or you deleted it from there too. iCloud never got the instruction to delete the photo.


If you instead deleted it before he turned off iCloud storage then after 30 days it was gone for for good. Deleted photos are stored in a Recently Deleted folder in iCloud for 30 days after deletion unless they are also immediately deleted from there too.


Delete photos on your iPhone or iPad - Apple Support notes, "If you want to permanently delete your photos or videos, you can remove them from the Recently Deleted album. When you delete a photo from this album, you can't get it back."


Jessica163g wrote:
But i thought iCloud Photos is automatically turned on when u get an iPhone
i don’t know if he used it. He just didn’t ever pay for the extra storage. He stayed at 5gb iCloud

No it is not automatically turned one.

Read here Set up and use iCloud Photos - Apple Support


You have to turn on iCloud photos. It then becomes active regardless of your storage level. I have photos backing up to my iCloud storage all the time with only 5 GB but I transfer them to a computer and delete them from iCloud so I never exceed about 3.5GB storage. So in your case the critical things are if he activated photo syncing and when and if he did that, when and if he turned it off again, and when you deleted the video.

Jessica163g wrote:
Hello.
I am in a dilemma. Hopefully this isn’t just anxiety. Back in January of 2026 someone took a video of me that I wanted gone. So I was able to delete it from his phone in may 2026. i know it’s deleted from his physical phone (camera roll) but now I am worried that it is in his iCloud. He never payed for iCloud, so that means he only had the free 5gb of iCloud storage. But what if the video already got to the iCloud website, and then he turned iCloud syncing off after it got to the website? That means if I deleted the photo in may, and the picture already made it to iCloud website , but iCloud Photos/syncing was off, that means it’ll stay there forever. Can someone help me figure this out? Is it likely he turned off iCloud Photos or syncing on his iPhone 17 pro max? Does the iPhone 17 pro max come with iCloud Photos and syncing already on? Please any comments is helpful. Also, what if the video had already uploaded to iCloud website and he turned off the syncing before I was able to delete the video from his physical camera roll?
[Re-Titled by Moderator]
Original Title: iCloud syncing

Next time don't do such videos.

I think your being over paranoid.

If he never used icloud then it wouldn't go to icloud website.

IF he backup his phone when said video was taken and then delete, the next backup would overwrite the old one.

You only photos/videos on said phone will sync to the cloud assuming they had that on.

But i thought iCloud Photos is automatically turned on when u get an iPhone

i don’t know if he used it. He just didn’t ever pay for the extra storage. He stayed at 5gb iCloud