I have about 800 GB of data in a family sharing plans and now I want tk change from family sharing to my own iCloud + plan.
if I stop using family sharing and buy my own plan will all the data move from family storage to my own iCloud storage ?
I have about 800 GB of data in a family sharing plans and now I want tk change from family sharing to my own iCloud + plan.
if I stop using family sharing and buy my own plan will all the data move from family storage to my own iCloud storage ?
Posted on Oct 29, 2026 7:16 AM
Oct 29, 2026 7:56 AM in response to Ashraogs
No.
There's nothing to move as the files and data don't exist within a specific plan.. When you start using your own plan, then your data's storage usage simply count's against your own subscription, the physical location of the files and data does not actually change in any way shape or form.
Also note, sharing iCloud storage does not mean other family members have access to your data and files, as long as you aren't also sharing the same Apple Account. Data in iCloud is kept separate and private when sharing iCloud storage in Family Sharing.
Originally posted at discussions.apple.com/thread/256385312