Archive. This is an archive of the Apple Support Community. Discussions are being restored and soon you will be able to read and post here again.

Screen Time passcode reset via Apple Account missing on iPhone 16 Pro

Hello, I have set a Screen Time passcode on my iPhone 16 Pro as a self-control measure to prevent doomscrolling and unauthorized app installations. Unfortunately, I have forgotten the passcode.

Previously, I could easily reset the Screen Time passcode directly on my device via my Apple account by tapping "Forgot Passcode?". However, after recent updates to iOS 27, this option seems to have completely disappeared from the Screen Time settings on my iPhone, and I am completely locked out from changing or turning off the passcode.

My questions are:

  1. Why has the iCloud reset option vanished from the iOS Screen Time menu, and how can I reset the passcode now?
  2. Can I use my MacBook (which is signed into the exact same iCloud account) to bypass or reset the Screen Time passcode on my iPhone? If so, what are the exact steps?

I want to avoid factory resetting my phone if possible. Any advice or workarounds would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

2 replies

Welcome and thank you for reaching out. 🤗


According to Apple:


How a Screen Time passcode works

A Screen Time passcode isn’t the same as the passcode you use to unlock your device. It’s important to keep track of your Screen Time passcode because you need it to change the settings, limits or restrictions for your device or a child’s device.


To make sure that your Screen Time settings sync across all the devices in your Family Sharing group, update all the devices to the latest software version before turning on or changing your Screen Time settings. If you have Share Across Devices turned on, your Screen Time passcode automatically updates on those devices if you reset it.


If you use Family Sharing to manage a child's Apple Account, the Family Sharing organizer or a parent/guardian needs to reset the Screen Time passcode on their own device, not the child's device.


Reset the Screen Time passcode for a child's iPhone or iPad

These steps apply to iOS 27 and iPadOS 27 and later. Learn how to set a Screen Time passcode for your child's device on iOS 26 and earlier.

  1. On the family organizer or parent/guardian's device, open the Settings app.
  2. Tap Family, then tap your child's name. If you don’t see your child’s name under Family, make sure you’re both signed in to your devices with your own Apple Account and that your child's account is part of the Family Sharing group.
  3. Tap Passcode & Management. If you don't see Passcode & Management, you may need to set up usage and parental controls first, then set up a Screen Time passcode.
  4. Tap Change Screen Time Passcode, then tap Change Screen Time Passcode again. 
  5. Enter your old Screen Time passcode.
  6. Enter a new Screen Time passcode, then enter it again to confirm.


Reset the Screen Time passcode for your iPhone or iPad

These steps apply to iOS 27 and iPadOS 27 and later. Learn how to set a Screen Time passcode for your child's device on iOS 26 and earlier.

  1. Open the Settings app, then tap Screen Time. 
  2. Tap Passcode & Management.
  3. Tap Change Screen Time Passcode, then tap Change Screen Time Passcode again. You need to authenticate with Face ID or enter the passcode used to unlock the device. If asked, enter the Apple Account email address and password that you used to set up the Screen Time passcode.
  4. Enter a new Screen Time passcode, then enter it again to confirm. 


It’s recommended that you don’t skip adding a Screen Time Passcode Recovery. That way, if you forget your Screen Time passcode, you can use your Apple Account to reset it. If you need to recover your Screen Time passcode, you must use the same account you entered when you first set up the Screen Time Passcode Recovery.


If you can't reset your Screen Time passcode

If you can't reset your Screen Time passcode, make sure that you're using the same Apple Account email address and password that you used when setting up the Screen Time passcode. This might be a different Apple Account than the one that you're signed in to on your device. If you're part of a Family Sharing group, it might be a family member's Apple Account or your child's Apple Account.


If you need more help, contact Apple Support directly.


Good Luck! 👋🏼😉

Smiliñ 😎 Brian | Community Volunteer

How to Reset Screen Time Passcode


If you are unable to reset your Screen Time Passcode with your Apple ID then you may have skipped the option while setting up Screen time Passcode. See the pic below



If you have forgotten your Screen Time passcode. 


There are two options.


Option 1: If you are unable to reset the Screen Time passcode from this-> link, 

Option 2: Use this link to learn how to reset your passcode --> If you forgot your Screen Time passcode - Apple Support



Important:

Resetting the Screen Time passcode is ineffective if you later restore from a backup, because the backup will reinstate the original passcode. Your only viable path is to sync all data to iCloud, perform the reset, and then allow iCloud to resync your information. Under no circumstances should you restore from a backup that includes an unknown Screen Time passcode.



Regarding your data, if…

  1. You have an iCloud or iTunes backup. I am sorry, there is no use of a backup because if you restore from your backup, your Screen Time Passcode will be back. 
  2. You have synced your data to iCloud, then what you will get back is what you have synced to iCloud and uploaded to iCloud Drive; the information that is synced and stored in iCloud are, Contacts, Calendars, Bookmarks, Mail, Notes, Voice Memos, shared photos, iCloud Photos*, Health data, call history, and files you store in iCloud Drive. (*-If you had turned on iCloud Photos, your content is automatically stored in iCloud.)
  3. You have imported your Photos & Videos to Mac/PC, then they are safely residing there
  4. You have uploaded some of it to Cloud Drives using the Files app (iCloud Drive, Google Drive, OneDrive, Dropbox, Flickr, box, AmazonDrive, Adobe Creative Cloud, etc.)
  5. If you have not imported, nor have you synced or uploaded your data to cloud drives, before forgetting the Screen Time passcode, then I am sorry, all your data is lost.