Archive. This is an archive of the Apple Support Community. Discussions are being restored and soon you will be able to read and post here again.

What has happened to saved Routes on the iPhone?

I used to be able to create and save a route in Maps on the Mac and open it on the iPhone. These are hand created routes you draw by dropping points on a map, not the ones map creates when you ask for navigation directions to somewhere.


There was no need to do anything to make this work. A route created in Places/Routes on the Mac and saved just turned up automatically in recents on the phone.


Now with IOS27.2 I cannot find any way of getting a Apple Maps route onto the iPhone. Tried sharing by messages, airdrop, nothing works. Its like routes got dropped from Maps on the iPhone and it cannot open them anymore. Anyone else seeing this?


I used this a lot teaching my eldest to drive. Went to run those same routes with my youngest and it looks like the functionality is gone.

4 replies

Found the answer. The routes are synced to the phone, it’s just opening a route on the Mac doesn’t synchronise to the iPhones recent list anymore.


To access a saved routes on the phone you need to start from Maps in the state where half the screen shows the map and half is the search area, its the state maps app starts in if you quit it and reopen.

Touch where it says ‘Places >’, then hopefully you will see Routes, touch that and all your routes are there to pick from.

An iOS update does not normally erase your personal data from your iPhone, either during or after installation.


However, if you were using iCloud to sync your data with your Apple Account (formerly Apple ID) and signed in with a different Apple Account after the update, some of your previously synced data may appear to be missing. This is because iCloud data is associated with the Apple Account used to sync it.


What should you do?

  1. Go to Settings and check which Apple Account is signed in.
  2. If you have signed in with a different account, verify whether your data was synced with your previous Apple Account.
  3. If appropriate, sign back in with your original Apple Account and allow sufficient time for iCloud to sync your data to the iPhone.


Your previously synced data may reappear once the original account is restored and syncing is complete.


Important: Do not assume that your data has been permanently erased simply because it is no longer visible after an update. First, check your Apple Account, iCloud sync settings, and iCloud.com.


Also, remember that iCloud Sync and iCloud Backup are two different things. Data that was never synced or backed up may not be recoverable if it has actually been deleted.

Go to the Maps app on your iPhone. · Touch and hold the map until a pin marker appears. To refine the location, tap Move, then drag the map. · Tap Pin. To mark ...Read more


Mark places with pins in Maps on iPhone



If you feel an unauthorized person/app is remotely using, controlling or monitoring your device, then that is possible only if you have done one or more of the following Don'ts...


  1. Don't hand over an iPhone to kids or to a stranger without Enabling Guided Access
  2. Don't share Apple IDs
  3. Don't Jailbreak
  4. Don't share sensitive information pertaining to your device
  5. Don't give in to Phishing
  6. Don't plug in your device in Airports and Public places through third-party cables and trust the device. Beware of Juice Jacking. (Especially in India)
  7. Don't leave your iPhone unlocked and unattended in public places like offices, schools, malls, etc.