Archive. This is an archive of the Apple Support Community. Discussions are being restored and soon you will be able to read and post here again.

Can I temporarily change Apple ID region without leaving Family Sharing?

I want to change my region and country really quick so I can download a specific game not in America, it looks like I have the option, but I’m in a family group with purchase sharing. I cannot remove my self from the group as we share Apple Music. If I change, will I be permanently locked out of the share and forced out of the group? Or can I change, get the app, and switch back to America and automatically be back in the group with sharing Apple Music?

3 replies

DeterminedBlade wrote:
Ok, noted, but after I switch back to America, will I automatically join back into the same family group? Will family sharing be reactivated automatically?

Nope. The Organizer of the plan will have to send you the invite again.

A couple of things to consider:

  • You can only change a Family Sharing group twice in a single year, so if that has already been done twice, you will not be able to join the group again until a year has passed.
  • Once you quit using an Apple Music subscription, expect all previously downloaded music and playlists created with that subscription to be removed.
  • You may be required to add a payment method that is based in that new region even if the app you want to download is free.
  • Also consider the Terms of Use for your Apple Account where your region is your Home Country/Residence. Providing false information, including a Billing Address for that region, may be considered a violation of those terms resulting in the termination of the account. Apple does not typically state reasons for terminations, they just say it is for a violation of the Terms of Use, so we have not seen where that was given as a reason, but certainly accounts have been terminated/suspended.

Ok, noted, but after I switch back to America, will I automatically join back into the same family group? Will family sharing be reactivated automatically?