Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

Freeing up storage

Can i turn off icloud sync in my iphone 12 and then delete my photos to free up storage and still have my photos in icloud safe?


1 reply

Yes. If you go to Settings ➜ Apps ➜ Photos ➜ iCloud Photos and turn it off, you can then delete photos off of your iPhone and they will remain untouched on iCloud and other synced devices.


You can also turn on Optimize Storage to have Photos dynamically reduce photo resolution, quality and file size on your device while keeping full resolution and full quality photos on iCloud.

click here ➜ Manage your photo and video storage - Apple Support