Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

Apple Music automatically generates duplicate playlists upon syncing iPhone

Every time I organize my playlists on my iPhone (Pro 13) and sync to Apple Music on my Macbook, the playlists that had changes made to them create a new playlist with the same name but new songs, instead of updating the original playlist. This is consistent behavior and takes up a large amount of time to correct, since you either have to bring the songs over to the original playlist from the new one, or delete the old one and rename the new one to the original name. I have over 20 playlists I regularly organize while listening to my phone on trips, so updating them manually on my laptop is not an option. iCloud is not an option. I have tried the suggested solution of syncing while Apple Music is not open - this used to work but no longer does. All software is updated. How do I update my playlists without having to delete the automatically generated duplicate playlists?

0 replies

There are no replies.