Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

How can I make sure deleted texts aren’t added back to my iPhone if I sync my iPad to iCloud?

I have an iPhone and an iPad with the Messages app. I spent a lot of time deleting texts from my phone but they’re still showing up on my iPad. If I sync the iPad to the cloud, how can I make sure that it doesn’t add those texts back to my iPhone?

3 replies

When iCloud Messages is enabled, message deletion is synced across all devices with iCloud Messages enabled.


Here, I’d first enable iCloud Messages on the iPhone, then on the iPad.

Thanks! I should have mentioned that I already have iCloud sync with iPhone messages, but not with iPad. When I used the iPad Messages app this morning, I noticed a couple of photos there that I’d already deleted from my iPhone. That’s why I am apprehensive about turning on iCloud sync for iPad Messages.

Maybe then the backups are somewhat lacking, too?


Get backups of iCloud data and of local data, then enable.