Confused_owl wrote:
Hi, I was reading an article on my iPhone yesterday when all of a sudden a background of the iPhone Setting screen with McAfee on it & alarm noise blocked my view. The message said that my device is being wire tapped & asked if I want to test it. In my surprise & without thinking, I pressed the test button & then another question came up asking if there is a noise, & then I pressed 'Yes.' I could see there was a red bar moving, as if it was loading. Before it could finish, I thought that this is wrong so I closed the website & cleared the history. I did not enter account details or any other details. I am worried that this might have affected my iPhone, the Apps in it, & my other device that is linked to the same Apple account. I regularly update my software & updated it again afterwards. Could you please advise of what to do? Thank you.
It is extremely unlikely that you have a virus, or that you were hacked.
A virus is a type of malware that works by spreading copies of itself to other programs or scripts. The iPhone's operating system is very locked-down. Even if an infected app got into the App Store and you downloaded that app, it would not have the ability to modify files containing other apps. A "virus" that cannot spread is not very much of a virus. A supposed "anti-virus" or "security" app would not be permitted to modify other apps either. Thus, an "anti-virus" app which could not remove viruses (that are not there because they would not have been able to spread in the first place) is not very much of an "anti-virus" app.
What you saw was a scam ad, presented by a Web site that you were visiting, or by an app that you were running. Scammers and dishonest advertisers know that people are frightened of "viruses" and of being "hacked" – and their messages often play upon those fears in an effort to get you to pay for useless software or to trick you into calling the scammers directly (so they can gather the information they need to rip you off directly).
If you can identify which Web site or app presented this message to you, you may want to think twice about going to that particular site or using that particular app in the future.