Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

Unable to update apps due to two-factor authorization on old Apple Account

I believe my account is locked behind a two factor authorization. To explain, I've recently switch my apple accounts on my iPad. In the app store, it won't let me update apps because it's still signed into the old account. I have the user and password for the old account but it requires a phone number verification. When I try to put in a new number, it doesn't work! I tried it my personal number and even another person's number and it still didn't work. So if someone could help explain how I can sign out my appstore into my current apple account or how I can put in a new number for the two factor authorization in the second account. My goal is to update my apps, so whatever is simpler is preferred.



[Re-Titled by Moderator]

Original Title: UNABLE TO UPDATE APPS

3 replies

Hi there


Please try this


  1. Identify the apps that fail to update or ask for the old account.
  2. Delete the app: Touch and hold the app icon on your iPad screen, tap Remove App (or Delete App), and confirm
  3. Re-download the app: Open the App Store, search for the app you just deleted, and download it using your current Apple Account. 


A much better way to handle this is to consolidate things into a single account. Apple's system discourages the use of multiple accounts unless you truly need completely separate personas. This will continue to be an issue (e.g., having to wait 90 days between switching accounts), particularly when using a single-user device such as an iPad or iPhone.


https://account.apple.com/faq

"How many Apple Accounts do I need?

Just one. Use the same Apple Account everywhere you sign in to ensure that all your Apple services and devices work together seamlessly and you can access your personal information from all your devices.."


Apple has no formal entire account merging or transferring process. The things below will help you in doing ongoing or one-time transfer of as much as possible from one account to the other. In February, 2025 Apple started allowing purchases to be migrated to a different account. This is not available in all countries. If you do wish to migrate purchases, Apple has several lengthy and detailed articles about doing this, including limitations:

- Purchases can be migrated from a secondary to a primary Apple Account to consolidate them. (This feature isn’t available to users in India.) —> Migrate purchases from one Apple Account to another Apple Account - Apple Support

- Learn about what purchases and associated content can be migrated between two accounts. —> https://support.apple.com/117267

If you cannot migrate your purchases, or wish to share already purchased items, look into using Family Sharing to continue to be able to use items purchased with one Apple account with other Apple accounts, and for some data sharing features.

- Family Sharing - How Family Sharing works - Apple Support

- Set up Family Sharing - How to set up Family Sharing on your iPhone, iPad, or Mac - Apple Support


You can use various iCloud sharing features for some ongoing data sharing.

Share folders with iCloud Drive --> Share files and folders in iCloud Drive on iCloud.com - Apple Support


Read How to use Shared Albums in Photos on your iPhone, iPad, or Apple Vision Pro - Apple Support about how to share photos.


Sharing music playlists —> How to share an Apple Music playlist on your iPhone - Apple Support


While Apple’s purchase migration documents say you cannot transfer iCloud data, you can probably still do that as a separate process. The next section may sound tricky but it lets you merge some things on a device where you have already signed in with an old account but want to use a new account and incorporate data that is already on the device from the old account. Incidentally, the data will then propagate to other devices using iCloud with that new account. (I haven't tried this with a computer but it may also work with a computer account signed into an old account.)


If you have signed into the first Apple account on a mobile device (but maybe also on a computer?) then fortunately when you sign out of that account it asks you if you wish to retain the data from the old account on your device (toggle the ones you want to on What happens after you choose Sign Out But Don't Erase - Apple Support ). If you keep data on the device then when you sign in with the other account it will merge this data with the account signing into the device. You can later delete individual items from the old account that you do not want. Similar information can be found in this post: I have 2 apple IDs i want to merge them h… - Apple Community , and a step-by-step in this User Tip: How to “unshare” an Apple ID - Apple Community . Note that only content physically present on the device such as contacts, photos and videos will be retained. Meta data such as a game play scores that are tied to a specific account or are only on a vendor's Apple Account-specific database remotely will not be retained. Also turn off storage optimization before doing this. With Optimize Storage, smaller, space-saving photos and videos are kept on your device while all of your original, full-resolution versions are stored in iCloud. Make sure photo optimization is turned off so the full quality versions from the old account are actually on the device before merging the content into your new account. https://support.apple.com/HT205703 You can turn optimization back on again once you are fully using your new account on the device.



The delete and redownload process is near the bottom of my list of things to do.


If both accounts were yours and you have access to them I would try migrating the purchases. If you cannot migrate them then I would set up Family Sharing between the accounts. These two things have the big advantage that if you have invested a lot of money in these apps then you do not have to pay for them again. If you cannot do either or those (e.g. if the apps were downloaded by another user) then delete them and redownload them.


Identify the app owner will be onerous. You'll have to turn off automatic updating and then manually update them one by one and see which ones complain about needing a different account.