Archive. This is an archive of the Apple Support Community. Discussions are being restored and soon you will be able to read and post here again.

iPhone 15 Pro Max was blocked as a result of iCloud fraud

SN:KN***DT9

EID: *** ***

IMEI: ***

IMEI 2: *** (Iphone 15 pro max 256 GB), bought it on October 3, 2026 in the Russian Federation in Izhevsk (there is all the information about the store, as well as the receipt, warranty card and box).

The situation is this: fraudulently, under the pretext of helping install the application, they told me to log out of my Icloud and log in to someone else's. When I logged into someone else's Icloud, they immediately reset the device and marked the phone as lost, after which there is no connection with the scammers. I'm going to write a statement to the police soon, and I'm also going to take a copy of the statement and send Apple a receipt, a warranty card, and a copy of the statement to prove that the device is mine. I understand that it's lost and the chance is small, but how small is it? It's not my fault that I was deceived on the Internet, especially since I went to the police and told Apple all the facts of ownership of the device, I worked on it for a long time and used it for less than a week... It's a shame, but I hope for the support of the Apple, if anything, I can give some more evidence if there is not enough.


[Edited by Moderator]

6 replies

See https://al-support.apple.com/


You were scammed. According to the Activation Lock Support page above, Apple will not remove Activation Lock if the device is in Lost mode.


There are dozens of similar reports in these forums. You essentially gave them ownership of your iPhone. If they come back and tell you that they will unlock the device if you pay them, do NOT do it. They will not unlock it. They'll just tell you to pay more.

LoneXDi wrote:

SN:KN***DT9
EID: *** ***
IMEI: ***
IMEI 2: *** (Iphone 15 pro max 256 GB), bought it on October 3, 2026 in the Russian Federation in Izhevsk (there is all the information about the store, as well as the receipt, warranty card and box).
The situation is this: fraudulently, under the pretext of helping install the application, they told me to log out of my Icloud and log in to someone else's. When I logged into someone else's Icloud, they immediately reset the device and marked the phone as lost, after which there is no connection with the scammers. I'm going to write a statement to the police soon, and I'm also going to take a copy of the statement and send Apple a receipt, a warranty card, and a copy of the statement to prove that the device is mine. I understand that it's lost and the chance is small, but how small is it? It's not my fault that I was deceived on the Internet, especially since I went to the police and told Apple all the facts of ownership of the device, I worked on it for a long time and used it for less than a week... It's a shame, but I hope for the support of the Apple, if anything, I can give some more evidence if there is not enough.

I think this is not fixable because when you logged out and then logged in with someone else's Apple ID, your iCloud data from your phone is immediately copied into their Apple ID iCloud and then they can quickly change their Apple ID password and lock your device. Now you have a device you can't use anymore and also all your personal data has been copied into someone else's storage, somewhere.


What you should do now, quickly, is: change all financial logins/passwords; freeze and/or replace all credit cards and other items that were in your Wallet; change all your passwords as your keychain may have been compromised.


While people here in Apple Discussions can provide guidance and advice, this is a user forum, actual Apple representatives do not participate (other than to enforce rules of usage). So the actual resolution of this issue will be by Apple, not from readers here, who can only share their experiences.


[Edited by Moderator]

... they told me to log out of my Icloud and log in to someone else's.


The store told you to to that? In any event this is what happens: What happens after you choose Sign Out But Don't Erase - Apple Support


If the store told you to do that then they are not honorable.


Which brings us to...


I'm going to write a statement to the police soon, and I'm also going to take a copy of the statement and send Apple a receipt, a warranty card, and a copy of the statement to prove that the device is mine.


Apple is legally prohibited from selling their products in the Russian Federation. The corollary of that fact is that it is not possible to legally purchase their products in the Russian Federation. Therefore it is not possible for the device to be "yours" in any sense other than the fact it is in your physical possession, which is now as useless as a brick.


I am confident Apple wished it were not so, but they will not be interested in your complaint. In fact they are probably prohibited from intervening, even if they wanted to.


Apple is fond of selling as many things to as many people as possible, and they are very successful at it. Unless and until things change, millions of people just like you will continue to suffer the consequences of decisions that remain completely out of their hands.

Sorry, the phone will remain unusable. Apple will not be able to remove the account once it has been placed in Lost mode.


Yes, that is a tough lesson to learn and you should NEVER add someone else's Apple Account into your device. You are communicating with complete strangers and blindly following instructions they tell you to do and unfortunately that is your fault.

П.с. под видом установки приложения которое якобы может кастомное изображение наложить на Dinamic Island предлагают войти в их Icloud в тик токе а после переводят в тг и там уже кидают данные а после как вошел в их аккаунт сразу же удаляют данные и помечают телефон как утерянный...

PS. under the guise of installing an application that supposedly can overlay a custom image on Dinamic Island, they offer to log into their Icloud in tiktok and then transfer to tg and there they already throw the data, and after logging into their account, they immediately delete the data and mark the phone as lost...