Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

iCloud Photos sync warning when disabling on iPhone

I have sync-ed all of my photos from iCloud to my phone via Account > iCloud > Photos. I have checked my iPhone Storage and it shows the correct amount of storage space that Photos app is taking up.


I would like to downgrade my iCloud storage plan, when i unchecked "Sync this iphone" under iCloud Photos, it says: "This iphone was not able to download 3,033 full-resolution photos and videos. If you continue, the low-resolution versions of these photos and videos will be removed."


  1. Since i see the photos taking up storage space on my phone, is it safe to continue to not sync this iphone?
  2. If i uncheck that setting, will it mean only the high resolution versions will be on my phone?


Honestly i dont even know how to ask this question as this popup alert has bugged me for years. Thanks!

1 reply

Optimize storage works by keeping only screen-sized images locally on the phone and relying on iCloud to hold all the necessary support files. For example, on my phone, almost every one of my pictures is optimized, but some that I have edited recently will have the full data still stored locally.


If you turn off iCloud Photos, then you are given the option of downloading the entire Library:

If, instead, you select Remove, then all the screen sized images (probably all of them) will be deleted from the phone, since they aren't much good without the iCloud support. The few pictures that have all their data locally may be retained--I'm not quite sure of that, since I haven't tried it. The full Library would remain at iCloud.com as long as the storage is paid for.


In your case, as may happen with most people who need to optimize, there isn't enough room on your phone to hold all your pictures, so you aren't given the choice to Download. You can Cancel and continue as before, or you can continue to turn off iCloud Photos, and all your pictures will remain at iCloud. You could download them to a computer from iCloud, but that's rather awkward for lots of pictures.


If you downsize iCloud, and if there isn't enough room left for all your pictures there, then they will be erased from iCloud, forever.


You could, and should, just plug in an external drive, select the pictures, and use Share>Save to Files. This provides a solid backup of your Library. You should probably save both Unmodified Originals and the regular edited versions. Alternatively, you can backup to a computer:

Transfer photos and videos from your iPhone or iPad to your Mac or PC