Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

Free trial confusion: Am I getting 3 free months or charged $119 immediately?

I've had a free trial for 3 months. It is expiring today. I cancelled and then changed my mind. It says that I'm getting 3 free months , but says $119 a year starting today . So I'm not getting 3 months free?



[Re-Titled by Moderator]

Original Title: Free trial confusion

2 replies

You were charged right away because you had cancelled it previously.


Apple started doing this some years back when vendors rightly complained that users would cancel within the trial period, only to start another trial. The sole reason being to keep using an app for "free" as one trial period after another.


So the rule changed. Any app that had a trial period ended, is immediately charged any time after to prevent that type of trial abuse.


Not at all saying you were doing this on purpose. Just explaining why.

Thanks so much. I didn't see a charge , but it said $119 and it told me 3 months free...so that's why I was confused. Lol