Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

My Leisure Time app cancellation help

Hi there. I do hope that someone can help. My grandson downloaded 'My Leisure Time' app onto my husband's ipad and phone and now Apple have charged £9.99 which my husband was unaware of. I have tried to help by going in and cancelling the subscription but it is not showing in the subscription part of his apple account. Please can someone let me know how this can be cancelled. Thank you.

3 replies

The subscription should be listed under the account that was signed into the device or into the Media & Purchases section when the purchase was made.


This support article explains how to cancel a subscription from Apple on various kinds of hardware and online ➔ Cancel a subscription from Apple - Apple Support Use the drag-down menu to choose the kind of equipment you have.


Notes:

• “If you signed up for a trial subscription and you don't want to renew it, cancel it at least 24 hours before the trial ends.” Exceptions in: About canceling subscriptions in Germany, Israel, South Africa, or Türkiye - Apple Support

• Free trials will usually automatically turn into paid subscriptions unless you cancel in time.

• Many subscriptions are set to renew automatically until you intentionally cancel them.

• If you don’t see Cancel Subscription, then the subscription is already canceled and won't renew. An "Expires" date (instead of "Renews") means the current subscription has been canceled but will work until the expiration date. "Resubscribe" (or Renew) is just in case you change your mind about having it end.

• Deleting an app does not cancel a subscription.


You can view your subscriptions here —> https://apps.apple.com/account/subscriptions (requires sign-in)

If you can’t find the subscription that you want to cancel, click here —> https://support.apple.com/118428?#troubleshoot and review the possibilities:

- Charges for Family Sharing members or additional Apple Accounts you may have will not appear when you are signed into your Apple Account. Search for email “receipts from Apple” or “ invoices from Apple” and get the account names. Issues have to be resolved when signed in with the other account.

- Subscriptions made directly with a third party. More about this here —> About purchases not billed through the App Store or Apple In-App Purchase - Apple Support and here —> Headway app: unauthorized charges, not in… - Apple Community

- Linking missing AppleCare plan subscriptions —> If you can't find your AppleCare plan - Apple Support


If you still can't find a subscription or still have problems, contact Apple Support for your account country ➔ Contact Apple Support - Apple Support (Telephone numbers will often only work when called within-country.)



If you wish to pursue a refund, follow the directions in this support article about how to request a refund for apps or content that you bought from Apple ➔ Request a refund for apps or content that you bought from Apple - Apple Support The likelihood of you getting a refund may vary greatly from region to region as provided in section B of Legal - Apple Media Services - Apple . Typically refunds are entirely discretionary and not guaranteed. Special terms may apply for some countries: About canceling subscriptions in Germany, Israel, South Africa, or Türkiye - Apple Support


Read this support article for information about how long it takes to receive a refund (if one is granted), and how to check the status of a refund for apps or content that you bought from Apple --> Check the status of a refund for apps or content that you bought from Apple - Apple Support

● Store credit—It might take up to 48 hours to see the refund in your Apple Account balance.

● Mobile phone billing—It might take up to 60 days for the statement to show the refund. Processing time might be affected by your carrier. You can contact your carrier for an update.

● Credit and debit cards, Apple Pay, Apple Cash, and all other payment methods—It might take up to 30 days for the statement to show the refund. If you don't see the refund after 30 days, contact your financial institution."


Refunds are not guaranteed. Apple’s position appears to be that people need to be proactive about purchases, canceling subscriptions at least 24 hours before trials end, and ensuring that others are not able to make unsanctioned purchases on a user’s account. Note that if you allow—intentionally or not—another person access to purchasing on a device, or through Family Sharing if you are the Organizer, you are taking responsibility for things they do. Apple offers these features to help you avoid this situation:


On your device you can use Screen Time to prevent unintentional or unauthorized purchases from the App Store, in-app, and other Apple services. —> Turn off Apple In-App Purchases from Screen Time on your iPhone or iPad - Apple Support


Also on your device, require a password for App Store and iTunes purchases —> Require a password for purchases in the App Store and other Apple services - Apple Support


Use Screen Time as part of parental controls on your child's iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch —> Set up parental controls to manage your child's iPhone or iPad - Apple Support

Use Screen Time to turn off in-app purchases on your iPhone or iPad —> Turn off Apple In-App Purchases from Screen Time on your iPhone or iPad - Apple Support


If a child made this purchase on their device as part of Family Sharing, consider activating Ask To Buy—> Approve what your child can purchase and download with Ask to Buy - Apple Support


Use Guided Access to permit a person to only use a single app —>

Lock iPhone to one app with Guided Access - Apple Support



Thank you for all the extensive apple information that you have sent through, however, I have checked on Media & Purchases: Purchased history, subscriptions and hidden purchases. Nothing there. Have also checked subscriptions below payment and shipping. My only option is to email the company themselves as I have no other way of cancelling this. Has anyone else had this problem?