You’re right, you can only delete an account into which you can successfully authenticate.
Unfortunately, this is a not an uncommon scenario for seldom-accessed; old accounts, not protected by 2FA.
It’s likely not so much that Apple is being unhelpful, but the way those accounts were created and secured was entirely by your self-created credentials (password).
i.e. You never appeared in-person before an “Apple Agent” and presented “2x forms of Gov’t-issued ID and 2x proofs of residence” as you might for driver’s licenses).
Access and control therefore effectively belongs to whoever holds the credentials … and unfortunately in this case … that’s now apparently someone else.