Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

How to block Apps on child's iPad once they have been permitted?

How do I block specific apps on my child's iPad?


One app in particular under the auspices of being a video editor, was downloaded but it's filled with TikTok style videos (same developer), completely inappropriate for children.


It was permitted initially but now it cannot be deleted. When it is removed, my child can simply re-download it, use it and then delete it after if they want to make it seem like it's not been used.


This seems to me to be a glaring gap in the Screen Time defences and means parents cannot undo permissions for apps once initially granted. Most apps, you have no idea what they will be like until they are downloaded and you have an opportunity to check them for AI slop, adverts or adult content. By that time, it's too late.


It seems like it should be quite straightforward to blacklist or block an app or at least send a new request for permission to download once deleted.


Changing the age access range for the entire device is not a solution. Restricting the app's daily usage to 1 minute on screen time is just an absurd solution and may not survive a deletion and reinstallation. Making my child promise not to download it is also not a solution and defeats the entire point of parental control.


Is there something I am missing or is this system truly this unintuitive?

4 replies

iOS/iPadOS 27 offers greater control and flexibility in applied Parental Controls. If you haven't already done so, update to the most recent version - at the time of writing, iPadOS 27.0.1 is current.


Allow or block apps and websites


  1. Open the Settings app, tap Family, then tap your child's name.
  2. Tap Apps & Websites. If asked, enter your Screen Time passcode.
  3. Select an app or website. Tap Block App or Block Website, then tap again to confirm. You can unblock an app or website at any time.





If you block an app, the app won't be deleted, it's just dimmed on the Home Screen. You can also block apps with specific ratings (or Unrated apps in the EU).


Excerpt from Set up parental controls to manage your child's iPhone or iPad - Apple Support

You should note that blocking an App that was previously purchased won't hide it completely from view or subsequent download from purchased Apps. However, when Parental Controls are set to block the App, this control should prevent the App from running at all.

Well that's a bit of extraordinary timing. Updating to iOS 27 now. Thank you.