Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

Does resetting my old Mac mini require my Apple ID

I have a late 2018 Mac mini that I am now replacing with a new M6 Mac mini. I read about and pretty much understand the steps to reset the old Mac mini (article 102773) and set up the new Mac mini (with a TM backup from the old Mac mini).


My question is: After setting up the new Mac mini and verifying that everything is working okay, will I then be able to complete the steps to reset the old Mac mini (for sale or donation), including signing out of iCloud, iMessage, iTunes, etc.?

I'm curious if after setting up the new Mac mini, does my Apple ID "belong" to the new Mac mini? And what to expect when I then restart the old Mac mini (and login to Apple?) to erase things and reinstall MacOS?

2 replies

1. Yes, unless you encounter an unrelated issue.

2. Apple Accounts don't belong to a computer.

3. Nothing not described in the article, with the same note as in #1.


(265155)

Thank you.