Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

“mdworker_shared” will damage your computer.

“mdworker_shared” will damage your computer. You should move it to the Trash. If I click cancel, it's showing again and again. How can I solve this issue?


8 replies

Hussain_Zaki wrote:
“mdworker_shared” will damage your computer. You should move it to the Trash. If I click cancel, it's showing again and again. How can I solve this issue?
Official Apple Support Community


hmmm....maybe you can say more


This is a normal part of your macOS working as expected a system process used by Spotlight to index files and keep search data updated in the background





Third party AntiVirus is not recommended— it typically does nothing but add issues to the macOS and competes directly with Apple’s own built in security.


Uninstall all third party apps that are Cleaners/Optimizers/VPN/Anti-Virus

all known to cause issues on the macOS



That prompt is from macOS anti-malware.


While mdworker_shared is part of macOS, there’s malware around that mimics that same mdworker_shared name.


If the problem persists after following that move-to-trash prompt, please post the three screenshots mentioned in the following tip, and maybe something related to this malware will show:


Hussain_Zaki wrote:
FYI, I got this message "“AccountsHelper” will damage your computer.


That is definitely justification for following the instructions MrHoffman recommended: About those "<app> will damage your computer" messages - Apple Community will reveal what's going on. Please post those three screenshots.


Whereas "mdworker_shared" is a legitimate macOS process as leroydouglas explained, there is no technical reason malware cannot hijack identical names. Those three screenshots will identify the culprits so you can eradicate them.

The name "mdworker_shared" sounds like a system process. I'm afraid the only paths forward are:


1) Explain in detail the provenance of your computer and any modifications you've made, or

2) Erase the hard drive and reinstall the operating system. Make sure to backup your data files first.

Yes, you should attempt to 'empty trash' -- but watch for error messages that certain items could not be completely removed.


Things are part of running MacOS are protected from 'Empty trash' until after a Restart.


At new Startup, items "in Trash' will NOT be installed in the new running instance of MacOS. When MacOS is up and running after a Restart, "empty trash' should be successful.

If I click cancel, it's showing again

so click move to trash...seems a logical option and compare your results

I moved it to trash, and it's not showing again. Should I delete it from trash?


FYI, I got this message "“AccountsHelper” will damage your computer. You should move it to the Trash." couple of days ago. I moved it to trash and then delete it from trash.

I have installed very few third party softwares, and they are microsoft office, screen recorder, VidyoClientForWeb, VidyoConnect, Google Chrome, Tipist & RStudio, and Zoom.us. That's all.