Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

Deleted photos keeps repapering, photos and videos duplicated every day even when permanently deleted

Please i need help as support hasnt helped. My iphone storage was full. I offloaded apps etc and regain 14gb of storage. After that, every time my phone backs up overnight, all my photos and videos that i have permanently deleted from my phone and app, are all back even from years ago. the footage i dont want, is back, the ones I wont are deleted. I went to bed with 14gb of memory, i woke up with junk photos that I deleted years ago on my phone and app. The ones I kept are gone. I have followed every troubleshooting, i followed every instruction and my phone is not having any of it. M yapp keeps multiplying, I marge and delete what I dont want daily, clear the bin and in the morning everything is back. Has anyone had a similar problem please? I have One drive app and Icloud. both are acting up and reserving 28gb of memory who knows wat for. Hopeing somone had the same issue and can help. Thanks

3 replies

If you storage is "full," then you are in trouble and youneed to fix that. Many operations use the iPhone's empty storage space to move files around. If you run out of storage, then those operations may not be able to be completed and, ironically, that can mean that even deleting doesn't work. If you have less than 10% available, then things can get lost forever. This is also true if your iCloud storage space gets low. So, What is your storage on this iPhone? At Settings>General>iPhone Storage, my phone says 50.5 GB of 128 GB used. What does yours say? 


What is your storage in iCloud? At Settings>[name]>iCloud>Storage, mine says 166.6 GB of 200 GB used. What does yours say? 


Are you using Optimize Storage for iCloud Photos? If so, removing pictures doesn't remove much.


Is deleting everything from my phone and iCloud. I been on the phone with them again and I was told to reset my phone. I have 3000 files from 25000. All is lost. Thankfully I have google photos and been all backed up. I don’t even know if by resetting the phone it will sort it out. Support says my phone is saving 59gb of memory for something but they don’t know what. And if they don’t know, how I suppose to know

When you mention that your videos and photos are deleted permanently, are you meaning permanently from your phone?