Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

Saving a combined movie in iMovie

In iMovie, I have combined two movies into one. How do I save the combined movie?

5 replies

Hi,


iMovie automatically saves the project to a backup library in the iMovie backups folder when you exit the project. You can also share (export) the project as a movie to your desktop.


iMovie backups folder


To get to the iMovie Backups folder, follow this file path from the Finder menu:


Go/Home/Library/Containers/com.apple.iMovieApp/Data/Library/Caches/iMovieBackups


 NOTE:  If running Ventura or later, in the above

file path substitute iMovie for com.apple.iMovieApp.  So, for Ventura

or later, the file path would read:


 Go/Home/Library/Containers/iMovie/Data/Library/Caches/iMovieBackups


When you get there you will see a list of previous backups of your iMovie library by dates.  Click on one  most recently dated.  iMovie will open in that library.  In the backup library,  navigate to your projects browser (where your projects are displayed as icons) and see if your projects are intact.


-- Rich

I might add that when you close a project, and then later reopen it, everything will be just as you left it.


-- Rich

Thank you!

You are welcome.


-- Rich

Did this change with Golden Gate? I don't have that path available. I also have a user missing her projects.