Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

Resetting old iPad after upgrade: Will I lose login passwords?

I have replaced my iPad with a more recent model, is it ok to reset the old one as I have all I need on the new one, will I lose the login password etc?

1 reply

Of itself, a device "reset" won't impact data stored in iCloud or on other devices - but "reset" can mean different things to different people.


So as to avoid any potential loss of data/files synchronised with iCloud, you'll need to follow the correct process. When "resetting" your old iPad, don't attempt to manually delete anything - as the deletion will be replicated across your devices.


The simplest and safest method to reset/sanitise your old iPad is to follow this procedure:

What to do before you sell, give away, or trade in your iPhone or iPad - Apple Support