Unofficial archive. This is a read-only, community-run archive of the Apple Support Community. It is not affiliated with or endorsed by Apple Inc.

Workaround for using Shared Albums with 'legacy' storage limits

Hi everyone!


This is not so much a question as it is a note about a bug/feature for anyone interested in Shared Albums and their limits.


With the update to iOS 27, iPadOS 27, and macOS 27, everything has indeed changed exactly as described in the September 14, 2026 revision of this Apple Support article:

https://support.apple.com/108916


However, for those who would still like to use the “old” Shared Albums limits and continue uploading photos and videos without them taking up space in iCloud storage, there is a workaround — one that Apple Support won’t tell you about.


The workaround is to create the Shared Album and upload content to it from devices running older versions of iOS, iPadOS, or macOS.


In my case, for example, I use a 2017 MacBook Pro running macOS 13.7.8, and everything still works exactly as it did before. In other words, it behaves according to the February 27, 2025 version of the same Apple Support article, which you can still read via the Internet Archive’s Wayback Machine:

https://web.archive.org/web/20260530113228/https://support.apple.com/en-us/108916

2 replies

Of course you can use older systems to put lots of pictures in shared albums without it counting against your storage. But in an older system, the picture kept in a shared album are lower resolution and don't have complete metadata. I would never use that as some sort of primary storage if I cared for the quality of my pictures.


Perhaps you should consider warning people that their pictures must be downgraded to go into older Shared Albums when you encourage them to use that method.

Hi Richard “Corporate Kool-Aid” Taylor,


You say, “Of course you can use older systems...” even though the article never explicitly says that, and neither did any of the Apple Support specialists I spoke to on the phone seem to know about it... You say you "would never use that as some sort of primary storage" — but I never suggested anyone should. You say I "should consider warning people that their pictures must be downgraded to go into older Shared Albums", but that is precisely what I meant by “limitations” in my comment.


Richard, perhaps you could stop so zealously defending corporations’ attempts to squeeze more and more money out of people. Try to be a little more reasonable — if only with yourself.


P.S. And by the way, in case you didn’t know: when you move a photo or video into an old-style Shared Album, its metadata is not actually erased; it simply stops being displayed in the Shared Album. If you move that same photo or video from the Shared Album back into your library, you can once again see the location where it was taken and other similar metadata. Go do a little more “learning,” Richard. 😉