Archive. This is an archive of the Apple Support Community. Discussions are being restored and soon you will be able to read and post here again.

Files are completely deleted without going to Bin after macOS update

After updating to MacOS 27.0.1, when deleting any file, the files are completely deleted without going to the Bin first.


A little heads up if you are updating your Mac.


P.S. I already given MacOS feedback on this bug.

3 replies

This is an issue with your Mac, not with macOS 27.0.1.


Note that there is a macOS feature to Delete Immediately when you hold down the option key and either use the keyboard shortcut (Command-Delete) or File menu command to delete a file. In that case, it does not go to the Trash but is immediately deleted.


More info: Delete files and folders on Mac - Apple Support


If you are not holding the option key, it may be that you have altered the default Modifier Key behavior. Check System Settings > Keyboard > Keyboard Shortcuts (button) > Modifier Keys.


More info: Change the behavior of the modifier keys on Mac - Apple Support


Have you rebooted your Mac? If not, that's the first step. If that does not help, then see if the problem is present when you boot in safe mode. That process performs some system cleanup and clears caches, and also disables 3rd party extensions that may cause problems.

 

Start up your Mac in safe mode - Apple Support


If that does not correct the issue, test in a new user account. A newly-created user account will have all settings at default, and if the issue does not occur in that new account then it provides guidance on what may need to be changed to correct the issue.

 

Add a user or group on Mac - Apple Support

 

Once the testing is complete, the new account can easily be deleted.

 

Delete a user or group on Mac – Apple Support


Those steps will help to isolate the problem.


It might help to download and run EtreCheck, written by a long-time forum member. The free version is fine. Post the full report using the Additional Text button. No personal information is revealed. 



Personally, I cannot replicate the issue on my Mac running 27.0.1. File deletion is normal and as Apple describes.


Move item to Trash:


Trash can Icon shows there's something in there:


That something is the item I just deleted:


Are you trying to say everyone is experiencing this bug? I’m not on my M5 MacBook Air and macOS 27.0.1 and you are the only one reporting this at this time.


So have you tried simply restarting your Mac? Also try restarting in Safe Mode.


Start up your Mac in safe mode - Apple Support


I'm just saying this as I have noticed it only after just recently updating my M1 Macbook Air and went to delete some unwanted files.


This issue has nothing to do with Safe Mode or restarting, this is more of a Finder Issue. I am posting this on here for other users to know what to expect when updating their Mac to 27.0.1.