Archive. This is an archive of the Apple Support Community. Discussions are being restored and soon you will be able to read and post here again.

27.0 forgets which apps are assigned to each desktop (space)

When using Mission Control with multiple desktops (Spaces), macOS 27.0 intermittently forgets which apps are assigned to each desktop. Apps that were previously assigned to a specific desktop revert to “None” and subsequently open on the currently active desktop.

2 replies

There have been many issues reported with Mission Control and Spaces on macOS 27 Golden Gate, especially regarding the way Full Screen apps and app switching are handled. Some have been resolved by identifying and removing incompatible 3rd party extensions, others are bona fide bugs. 

 

See if the problem is present when you boot in safe mode. That process performs some system cleanup and clears caches, and also disables 3rd party extensions that may cause problems.

 

Start up your Mac in safe mode - Apple Support

 

If that does not correct the issue, test in a new user account. A newly-created user account will have all settings at default, and if the issue does not occur in that new account then it provides guidance on what may need to be changed to correct the issue.

 

Add a user or group on Mac - Apple Support

 

Once the testing is complete, the new account can easily be deleted.

 

Delete a user or group on Mac – Apple Support

 

Those steps will help to isolate the problem.

 

It might help to download and run EtreCheck, written by a long-time forum member. The free version is fine. Post the full report using the Additional Text button. No personal information is revealed. 



If the issue persists in safe mode and a new user account, that suggests that it's a bug that Apple needs to address. Bugs can be reported to Apple here:

Feedback - macOS - Apple

 

Reporting issues like this to Apple is the only way to get them fixed. They do prioritize bugs based on frequency of reports, so the more people who report it, the faster it will be addressed.

Good news:

If I logout before shutting down the Mac, the spaces' allocation is preserved.

I am now using MacOS 27.0.1


It is an extra step... hopefully it will be fixed.