We are seeing the Mac OS 27 release cause employee to have re-login from the Apple start up window after the screen lockout screen times out?
Mac OS 27 causes re-login from startup window after screen lockout
Posted on Sep 23, 2026 1:05 PM
We are seeing the Mac OS 27 release cause employee to have re-login from the Apple start up window after the screen lockout screen times out?
Posted on Sep 23, 2026 1:05 PM
Sep 23, 2026 6:42 PM in response to CJMontage
Having to enter the login password after the screensaver activates and/or a period of inactivity is normal behavior, as described by Apple.
Change Lock Screen settings on Mac - Apple Support
That is especially true in a managed environment, when IT typically disables the ability of a user to set the lock screen timeout to Never. Note that If setting the timeout to Never is allowed but that setting is not available to the user, it's because iPhone Mirroring is set to Authenticate Automatically.
However, from your description it does not appear that you are seeing the normal lock screen but rather that the user is being logged out after a period of inactivity. There is a 'hidden' setting for that (not hidden per se, just not where you might think to look and many users are unaware of it).
Go to System Settings > Privacy & Security, scroll to the bottom and click the Advanced button, and ensure the setting to "Log out automatically after inactivity" is toggled OFF.
Sep 23, 2026 1:52 PM in response to CJMontage
As opposed to what?
This is expected (and desired) behavior. Assuming you're talking about the need to enter their password to access the machine. Everything they had open and running should still be open.
There is also an option to forcibly log the user out (closing everything that was open) after a specific idle time.
You can control those in settings.
Sep 23, 2026 1:41 PM in response to CJMontage
That is the default to prevent others from accessing a Mac that is left unattended.
You can extend the "Require password after screen saver begins or display is turned off" time or set it to Never.
Sep 24, 2026 9:34 AM in response to CJMontage
Just a suggestion. If “we” means you and your IT team then perhaps you should contact Apple about professional training courses for IT managers in the Enterprise.
And if you are managing multiple Macs then it’s always a good idea to set up a test machine to look for things like this before deploying. It’s really never a good idea to deploy such a big upgrade when the .0 release comes out. Wait for at least a .1 or .2 release and test before deploying.
Sep 24, 2026 9:05 AM in response to CJMontage
Thank you, we are trying it now...
Originally posted at discussions.apple.com/thread/256363677