can i deactivate me apple account
[Re-Titled by Moderator]
Original Title: deactivate
can i deactivate me apple account
[Re-Titled by Moderator]
Original Title: deactivate
Posted on Sep 23, 2026 12:35 PM
Sep 23, 2026 12:43 PM in response to lakesha70
You can indeed.
You may temporarily deactivate (recommended) or permanently delete (use with caution).
Learn more about both; and when ready, start the process for either from here:
Sep 23, 2026 1:36 PM in response to lkrupp
lakesha70:
“Deactivation” is temporary and reversible.
Although the loss of use and access while “Deactivated” is indeed total.
“Deletion” is permanent.
Sep 23, 2026 1:27 PM in response to lakesha70
You don’t say why you wish to deactivate your Apple Account but be aware that if you do so you lose access to all content or subscriptions you paid for in the past in the past, including music, photos, videos. So think hard before deciding.
Sep 23, 2026 1:39 PM in response to Chattanoogan
Chattanoogan wrote:
“Deletion” is permanent.
And it bricks still-associated devices.
Particularly those device lacking purchase receipts, or where the receipts were stored in the now-deleted account.
Sep 23, 2026 2:02 PM in response to MrHoffman
I know I always store my safe’s combo in my safe …
… after all, it’s VERY important. 😉
= = = = =
I’ve personally deleted 3x accounts, and Apple is VERY thorough at 1) making sure that you have copied the “never mind” code …
… 2) giving you plenty of time to “change your mind” …
… AND 3) explaining the consequences of failing to sign out of ALL devices.
Sep 23, 2026 2:25 PM in response to Chattanoogan
Chattanoogan wrote:
I know I always store my safe’s combo in my safe …
… after all, it’s VERY important. 😉
= = = = =
I’ve personally deleted 3x accounts, and Apple is VERY thorough at 1) making sure that you have copied the “never mind” code …
… 2) giving you plenty of time to “change your mind” …
… AND 3) explaining the consequences of failing to sign out of ALL devices.
Yep. And I’ve answered a more than a few questions about reviving now-bricked gear post-deletion, too. 🤷♀️
Originally posted at discussions.apple.com/thread/256363663