Recently, I received a notice that there is an update for my iTunes (12.13.11) via the little popup window/dialogue. When I clicked on it to download (as I've done so many times before), instead of beginning to download the update, a new tab opened in my browser (Firefox) to the Apple website (apple.com/itunes) which told me to "Download the latest version from the Microsoft store"--something which I've *never* had to do before. When I'd click the "download" option from the popup window, the update began downloading.
When I got to the "download" page, there's nothing indicating that it will just *update* the existing software; it looks like a complete "reset" of the whole iTunes. Obviously, I do NOT want to do that but I don't understand why I can't just update from the dialogue/popup box as I've done every previous update. *IF* I click the "Download iTunes for Windows now" button, will it simply update the software to the new version or is it going to basically reset iTunes to the point where I have to go through and make changes to the songs' information--such as removing things like "(1934 recording)" or "(Duet with ____)"? I know this may sound confusing but, again, I don't understand why I get the popup box with the "New Version Available" but then have to go to "Download iTunes for Windows now" rather than just clicking "Download now" in the popup box.