2 days ago, I updated my iPad to IOS 27. And then, I ran into a problem. My storage is now at 27-29 gigabytes.
Is this normal after the update?
2 days ago, I updated my iPad to IOS 27. And then, I ran into a problem. My storage is now at 27-29 gigabytes.
Is this normal after the update?
Posted on Sep 16, 2026 4:36 PM
Nov 9, 2026 8:07 AM in response to j-man-apple
Me too. After the update over 65GB (out of my 128GB) is being swallowed by iPadOS and System Data. I went from 35GB free before to having zero space available now. Apple Intelligence is consuming 15GB alone. I would gladly get rid of that crap if I could. This is crazy.
** Update ** Turning off the Auto Updates setting gives me back 16GB! Not a solution to the bloat problem, but at least I can use my iPad again now.
Nov 8, 2026 9:03 AM in response to LotusPilot
Yep no problem here, 3/4 of your used space is taken up by the system. All normal lol.
Sep 16, 2026 4:59 PM in response to j-man-apple
iPadOS 26/27 does indeed make greater use of local storage for both cached data (to improve system performance) and store additional software assets that power advanced features of iPadOS.
Your screenshot indicates that you still have +36GB of available storage space for your files and data. As you don't appear to be saving much data on you iPad, perhaps you can provide additional information as to why you believe you have a problem?
Insofar as you screenshot might suggest, nothing appears to be unusual or unexpected.
Sep 16, 2026 6:08 PM in response to j-man-apple
Yes, because as the OS contains more graphics, improvements in security and animations and all, the system file is bound to get heavier. Don’t worry. You are in a safe position and nothing is unexpected after an update, especially unnoticeable lags and storage getting full than before. But you have 36+ GB left.
Nov 9, 2026 2:17 PM in response to theroux
theroux wrote:
** Update ** Turning off the Auto Updates setting gives me back 16GB! Not a solution to the bloat problem, but at least I can use my iPad again now.
That means that you had an update downloaded that you did not install.
Originally posted at discussions.apple.com/thread/256358544