Did Apple change the way Shared Albums are shared?
Participants are invited by link in messages, then sees none of the photos in the album.
What happened here? Am I missing something, or a step, or a setting change?
The old way to invite participants to a Shared Album was to:
- Hit the "+Invite Participants"
- Start to type the name and click on the person to add.
- When the added person opened their phone or Photos app, the invite would pop up to ask if they wanted to accept the invite.
Now, after hitting "+Invite Participants," a box (dialog?) pops up (similar to when you want to just share a photo with someone) where you can choose to message it to them, Airdrop, Mail, etc. And these are the only options. No more automatically inviting them via the Photos app.
I know Apple recently changed Shared Albums so that even non-iPhone users can be invited and access (which is nice because we all have that one rando in our lives still using an Android), and maybe this is why they switched the way participants are invited. Except...
When now inviting participants via Messages (any of the ways really) a Photos link is sent to them. They click on the link and it goes to the album - but no one can see any of the photos.
Even I can only see photos in the Shared Album on my iPad, where I created the album, but my iPhone only shows the album and no photos.