Sabii1002 wrote:
I’m confused as well
Sabii1002 wrote:
... what happens if you’re not low on memory but leave it where it says 30 days? Then what occurs when you actually click “download all attachments”?
If your iPad is low on space - and needs to use local storage for something else - attachments including photos and videos are automatically removed from local storage. While the local copy may be removed, these attachments remain in iCloud - from which they can be downloaded again if you need to view them.
Locally stored attachments are automatically removed from the iPad after 30-days - freeing up space. While the locally stored attachments are removed from the iPad, these attachments are retained by (i.e. not deleted from) your iCloud storage.

When attachments are automatically removed from the iPad after 30-days, they can be downloaded again from iCloud when needed.
The Keep Messages setting determines how long the attachments are retained before being permanently deleted from both the device and iCloud. Setting to Never (as illustrated) ensures that attachments are never removed from the iPad or iCloud unless they are intentionally deleted by the user.