Archive. This is an archive of the Apple Support Community. Discussions are being restored and soon you will be able to read and post here again.

Reminders on iPhone: "Precise Location is off" notification

Reminders notification "Precise Location is off" occurs every time I open th app on my iPhone iOS 26. I don't want location data to be enabled but do I have to be punished if I want to use the app in a way that lets me use the app? DOesn't seem like Apple but more like a Microsoft big brother issue.

5 replies

I totally get the frustration with that notification. It does feel annoying when you just want to use the app without sharing your location. The good news is there's a way to stop that notification from popping up.


Here's what you can do:


Go to Settings > Privacy & Security > Location Services. Scroll down to Reminders and tap on it. You'll see options for location access. If it's set to "Never", the notification appears because the app is checking but can't access location. Try setting it to "While Using the App" but then toggle off "Precise Location" at the bottom. This way the app has approximate location (which it needs for location-based reminders to work at all), but it won't track your exact position.


Alternatively, if you don't use location-based reminders at all, you can just turn off Location Services entirely for Reminders by selecting "Never". The notification might still appear briefly, but after a few dismissals it should stop bothering you.


Also check if you have any location-based reminders set up. Go to the Reminders app and look for any reminders with a location pin icon. If you have any, either remove the location or delete those reminders - that's often what triggers the notification in the first place.


Hope this helps you get Reminders working without the nagging!

I was having this issue too with location services turned off for Reminders. I never make location-based reminders so I thought it couldn’t be that, but after looking through all my reminders I found one from a long time ago with a “when leaving address” setting that must have been an accident or some random experiment. I deleted it and the notification actually stopped!

For what it's worth, the app Tick Tick is free and allows you to import your reminders, I've decided to do that and delete the Reminders app. Additionally, Tick Tick seems to understand saying "no" once is sufficient and stops asking for permissions you already said it could not have.

Thanks for your reply and information. Unfortunately, if I don’t want location data at all I must live with notification every time I use reminders. The notification never goes away if you choose to never track you. If you choose to allow tracking of your location but turn off precise tracking you still get the same message every time. I know I’m not the only one as I have asked others who either don’t care about being tracked and don’t turn off tracking or are irritated as well and use other apps or are still putting up with this limitation of the app since they still find it useful despite this flaw. Reminders just started doing this about 4-6 mi this ago so Apple must be intent on tracking data if they handicapped the program just to do so. Again, feels like a Microsoft product. If one chooses the “never track” option, the app should not look to track you. That is a bug.

I don't know if I've encountered something more surreal during this ensh*ttification process than this. I do not wish to allow an app that does not need to track me to track me, apple legitimately goes "don't worry, we'll annoy you and wear you down til you just do it". Fully absurd and a telling sign of what's happened to apple.